Imagine trying to drive a car blindfolded. The chances are you would crash into something in the first few seconds. Being able to see well is crucial to driving safely.
Not everyone has 20/20 vision, and your eyesight deteriorates as you age. Thankfully, prescription glasses and contact lenses can help, but only if you wear them.
When does Texas require drivers to take eye tests?
When you apply for a Texas driving license, you need to take an eye test. If you do not meet the standard, you will get a restriction on your license, which allows you to drive, provided you wear your prescription lenses.
If your eyesight fails by a long way, you might still be able to drive on a limited basis, with a license that restricts you to staying under 45 mph and only driving during daylight hours.
When you reach 79 years old, you need to take another eye test to renew your license. So, if you first got your license in your teens, that gives you around 60 years of driving between mandatory vision tests. Your eyesight can deteriorate significantly during that time.
Rather than wait until the law tells you to get an eye test, it is best to get them tested regularly. Getting and wearing glasses when you need them, rather than when forced to, will help keep you safe.
If you are injured in a car crash, you need to understand why the crash happened. The insurance company will try to limit what they pay you, so you need to do all you can to show that the collision was the other driver’s fault. If you can show they should have been wearing glasses but were not, it could help you claim the compensation you need.